Diabète

L'encapsulation des îlots pancréatiques pour le traitement du diabète

La transplantation d’îlot pancréatique selon le protocole d’Edmonton donne un nouvel espoir pour traiter le diabète. Pour répandre l’accès de ce traitement, les techniques utilisées devront être améliorées afin de produire un plus grand nombre de cellules Bêta produisant l’insuline tout en améliorant les méthodes de greffes pour diminuer les rejets. Une stratégie pour réduire le rejet des greffes est de placer les îlots à l’intérieur de dispositifs immunoisolants (par exemple grâce à l'encapsulation) créant une barrière physique entre les cellules greffées et le système immunitaire de l’hôte. L’encapsulation des îlots dans des billes d’hydrogel permet la survie à long terme des îlots ainsi que le renversement du diabète auto-immun sur un modèle de rongeur.  Malgré les essais cliniques qui sont actuellement réalisés sur les humains, les résultats prometteurs obtenus chez les rongeurs n’ont pas encore pu être répliqués chez les primates. Nous avons développé une nouvelle méthode basée sur l’émulsion afin d’encapsuler une grande quantité d’îlots en quelques minutes. En utilisant cette technique d’émulsion, nous pouvons produire des billes d’alginate concentrées qui réduit le contact des anticorps de l’hôte avec les cellules greffées. Ce nouveau type de bille d’alginate non fonctionnalisée peut réduire et éliminer les problèmes encourus avec les autres techniques d’encapsulation, tels que la prolifération fibrotique. 

Publications sélectionnées:

 

Hoesli CA, Raghuram K, Kiang RL, Mocinecová D, Hu X, Johnson JD, Lacík I, Kieffer TJ, Piret JM. (2011) Pancreatic cell immobilization in alginate beads produced by emulsion and internal gelation. Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 108: 424-434. doi:10.1002/bit.22959

Tran R, Moraes C, Hoesli CA. (2020) Controlled clustering enhances PDX1 and NKX6.1 expression in pancreatic endoderm cells derived from pluripotent stem cells. Scientific Reports 10, 1190. doi: 10.1038/s41598-020-57787-0

Moeun BN, Ling SD, Gasparrini M, Rutman AK, Negi S, Paraskevas S, Hoesli CA. (2019) Islet Encapsulation: A Long-Term Treatment for Type 1 Diabetes. Editor: Reis, R.L. Encyclopedia of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Academic Press, 217-231. ISBN 9780128137000. doi: 10.1016/B978-0-12-801238-3.11135-3

Contactez-nous

Université McGill, Département de génie chimique, Wong 4300

3610 rue University, Montréal, QC, Canada H3A 0C5

Tel 514.398.4275 Courriel corinne.hoesli@mcgill.ca

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter

LABORATOIRE DE BIOINGÉNIERIE DES CELLULES SOUCHES - Université McGill

© 2020 Tous droits réservés

Diabetes

Islet encapsulation to treat diabetes

Islet transplantation using the Edmonton Protocol has provided new hope for a cure for diabetes. Widespread access to this treatment would require large numbers of insulin-secreting beta cells and improved methods to avoid graft rejection. One strategy to reduce graft rejection is to place the islets inside an immunoisolation device (for example via encapsulation) that creates a physical barrier between the graft and components of the host immune system. Islet encapsulation in hydrogel beads has allowed long-term islet survival and reversal of autoimmune diabetes in non-immunosuppressed rodents. Although clinical trials in humans are ongoing, the promising results obtained in rodents have not been replicated in primates. We have developed novel emulsion- and microchannel-based methods to microencapsulate large amounts of islets within a few minutes. This new type of uncoated alginate bead could avoid issues such as fibrotic overgrowth encountered with other encapsulation technologies. Additionally, we are exploring strategies for creating vascularized macroencapsulation devices to improve oxygen and nutrient transfer within thicker grafts.

Selected Publications:

Hoesli CA, Raghuram K, Kiang RL, Mocinecová D, Hu X, Johnson JD, Lacík I, Kieffer TJ, Piret JM. (2011) Pancreatic cell immobilization in alginate beads produced by emulsion and internal gelation. Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 108: 424-434. doi:10.1002/bit.22959

Tran R, Moraes C, Hoesli CA. (2020) Controlled clustering enhances PDX1 and NKX6.1 expression in pancreatic endoderm cells derived from pluripotent stem cells. Scientific Reports 10, 1190. doi: 10.1038/s41598-020-57787-0

Moeun BN, Ling SD, Gasparrini M, Rutman AK, Negi S, Paraskevas S, Hoesli CA. (2019) Islet Encapsulation: A Long-Term Treatment for Type 1 Diabetes. Editor: Reis, R.L. Encyclopedia of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Academic Press, 217-231. ISBN 9780128137000. doi: 10.1016/B978-0-12-801238-3.11135-3

Get in touch

McGill University, Department of Chemical Engineering, Wong 4300

3610 University Street, Montréal, QC, Canada H3A 0C5

Tel 514.398.4275 E-mail corinne.hoesli@mcgill.ca

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter

STEM CELL BIOPROCESSING LABORATORY - McGill University

© 2020 All rights reserved